People

CARRT is an interdisciplinary research center that includes faculty, staff and students from various colleges and disciplines, including: Engineering (Mechanical, Electrical and Computer Science), Arts and Sciences (Psychology, Communication Sciences & Disorders), The Arts (School of Theatre & Dance), College of Behavioral & Community Sciences (Department of Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling), and USF Health (School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences).

Faculty

Rajiv Dubey, PhD

Professor & Chair, Deptartment of Mechanical Engineering

Director, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-2280
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: dubey@usf.edu
Stephen Sundarrao

Associate Director, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-5346
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: sundarra@usf.edu
Redwan Alqasemi, PhD

Research Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Lead Researcher, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-2115
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: alqasemi@usf.edu
Stephanie Carey, PhD

Assistant Research Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Research Coordinator, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-5765
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: scarey3@usf.edu
Kyle Reed, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-2385
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: kylereed@usf.edu
Don Dekker, PhD

Adjunct Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974- 5629
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: dekker@usf.edu
Emanuel Donchin , PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: (813) 974-0466
Fax: (813) 974-4617
Email: donchin@mail.usf.edu
Yu Sun, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813)974-7508
Fax: (813) 974-5456
Email: yusun@cse.usf.edu
Sudeep Sarkar, PhD

Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-2113
Fax: (813) 974-3348
Email: sarkar@cse.usf.edu
Jason Highsmith, PT, DPT, CP, FAAOP

Assistant Professor, School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences

Phone: (813) 974-3806
Fax: (813) 974-8915
Email: mhighsmi@health.usf.edu
Merry Lynn Morris

Instructor & Academic Advisor, School of Theatre & Dance

Phone: (813) 974-1739
Fax: (813) 974-2026
Email: mmorris3@usf.edu
William S. (Sandy) Quillen, PT, DPT, PhD, FACSM

Associate Dean, USF College of Medicine

Professor, USF School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences

Phone: (813) 974-9863
Fax: (813) 974-8915
Email: wquillen@health.usf.edu
Tennyson J. Wright, PhD, CRC

Chair & Associate Professor, Department of Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling

Phone: (813) 974-2963
Fax: (813) 974- 8080
Email: tjwright@usf.edu
Shuh-Jing Ying, PhD

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-5627
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: ying@eng.usf.edu

Service Engineers & Technicians


Rosannah Parma
Office Manager

Phone: (813) 974-3977
Fax: (850) 974-3369
Email: rparma@usf.edu

Gary Sherman
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 1 (Tallahassee)

Phone: (850) 245-3421
Fax: (850) 245-3436
Email: gsherma2@usf.edu

Rafael Quinones
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 2 (Jacksonville)

Phone: (904) 486-7150
Fax: (904) 348-2636
Email: rquinones1@usf.edu

Stephanie McGhee
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 2 (Jacksonville)

Phone: (904) 486-7103
Fax: (904) 348-2636
Email: smcghee@usf.edu

Siva Gusam
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 3 (Orlando)

Phone: (407) 204-7633 (or 7634)
Fax: (407) 893-4436
Email: sivag@usf.edu

Vilma Cedoz
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 3 (Orlando)

Phone: (407) 204-7633
Fax: (407) 893-4436
Email: cedoz@usf.edu

Joanna Wood
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 4 (Tampa)

Phone: (813) 974-4222
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: jlwood8@usf.edu

Nyssa Masters
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 4 (Tampa)

Phone: (813) 974-9706
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: nmasters@usf.edu

Jeff Daniel
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 5 (West Palm Beach)

Phone: (305) 628-7244
Fax: (305) 628-7049
Email: jldaniel@usf.edu

Lashara Thomas
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 5 (West Palm Beach)

Phone: (561) 992-2001
Fax: (561) 242-5520
Email: lthomas6@usf.edu

Lex Reina
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 6 (Miami)

Phone: (305) 643-7497
Fax: (305) 643-7498
Email: lreina@usf.edu

Sandra del Rosario
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 6 (Miami)

Phone: (305) 643-7495
Fax: (305) 643-7498
Email: sdelrosario@usf.edu

Students

Graduate Students


Laura Byrnes-Blanco

Master's Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: lblanco3@mail.usf.edu

Cuneyt Esat Dastan

Master's Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: cdastan@mail.usf.edu

Tafara Dzingirai

Master's Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: dzingirai@mail.usf.edu

Ashleigh Fults

Master's Student, Department of Medical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: alf3@mail.usf.edu

Amber Gatto

Master's Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: ambergatto@mail.usf.edu

Shangdong Gong

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: shangdong@mail.usf.edu

Mehdi Hojatmadani

PhD Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: mhojatmadani@mail.usf.edu

Dimitrios Menychtas

PhD Candidate, Department of Medical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: menychtas@mail.usf.edu

Ramy Mounir

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: ramy@mail.usf.edu

Vladislav Paley

PhD Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: paleyv@mail.usf.edu

Fatemeh Rasouli

PhD Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: frasouli@mail.usf.edu

Benjamin Rigsby

PhD Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: bsrigsby@mail.usf.edu

Tian Tan

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: tiantan@mail.usf.edu

Urvish Trivedi

PhD Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: udt@mail.usf.edu

Chelsea Welch

Master's Student, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: chelseawelch@mail.usf.edu

Kimberly Witke

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: kwitke@mail.usf.edu

Lei Wu

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: leiwu@mail.usf.edu


Undergraduate Students


Abby Blocker

Department of Medical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: blockera@mail.usf.edu

Jesse Corbett

Department of Biological Health Sciences

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: kateycorbett@mail.usf.edu

Jasmin Kaur

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: jasmink1@mail.usf.edu

Victoria (Tori) Moses

Department of Medical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: vcm@mail.usf.edu

Daniel Rocchi

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: drocchi@mail.usf.edu

Paola Rossi

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: paolar1@mail.usf.edu

Hitarthi Shah

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: hitarthi@mail.usf.edu

Leila Sorrells

Department of Medical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: lsorrells@mail.usf.edu

Mohamed Yassin

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: yassin@mail.usf.edu

Alumni

Graduate Alumni


Daniel Ashley

Hailey Baez

Punya Basnayaka

Christine Bringes

John Capille

Matthew Clevenger

Chris Colbert

Kester Duncan

Sravan Elineni

Fabian Farelo

Adrian Johnson

Karan Khokar

Elijah Klay

Derek Lura

Amanda Martori

Mustafa Mashali

Nyssa Masters

Jason Maynard

Kayla McDermott

Indika Pathirage

William Pence

Norali Pernalete

Rubein Shaikh

Mario Alves Simoes

Francy Sinatra

Shyam Thillainathan

Ana Catalina Torres

Sarah Tudor

Eduardo Veras

Yu-Cheng Wang

Matthew Wernke

Jerry West

Wei Ye

Wentao Yu


Undergraduate Alumni


Andoni Aguirrezaba

Jeffrey Cama

John Camacho

Jason Cathell

Adriana Chacon

Michael Cohen

Micheal Concepcion

Daniel Cruz

Kyle Curham

Jason Entenmann

Eric Esinhart

Matthew Fowler

Rebekah Freilich

Richard Hicks

Megan Malek

Paul Mattioli

Jonielle McDonnough

Paul Mitzlaff

Holly Morris

Sean Motta

Laura Orozco

Joseph Palmowski

Brent Savage

Karl Rothe

Michelle Smith
CARRT

"Center for Assistive, Rehabilitation & Robotics Technologies"
Research - Education - Service