People

CARRT is an interdisciplinary research center that includes faculty, staff and students from various colleges and disciplines, including: Engineering (Mechanical, Electrical and Computer Science), Arts and Sciences (Psychology, Communication Sciences & Disorders), The Arts (School of Theatre & Dance), College of Behavioral & Community Sciences (Department of Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling), and USF Health (School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences).

Faculty

Rajiv Dubey, PhD

Professor & Chair, Deptartment of Mechanical Engineering

Director, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-2280
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: dubey@usf.edu
Stephen Sundarrao

Associate Director, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-5346
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: sundarra@usf.edu
Redwan M. Alqasemi, PhD

Adjunct Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Lead Researcher, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-2115
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: alqasemi@usf.edu
Yael Arbel, PhD, CCC-SLP

Assistant Professor, Department of Communication Sciences & Disorders

Phone: (813) 974- 8334
Fax: (813) 974- 0822
Email: yarbel@mail.usf.edu
Stephanie Carey, PhD

Assistant Research Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Research Coordinator, CARRT

Phone: (813) 974-5765
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: scarey3@usf.edu
Don Dekker, PhD

Adjunct Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974- 5629
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: dekker@usf.edu
Emanuel Donchin , PhD

Professor, Department of Psychology

Phone: (813) 974-0466
Fax: (813) 974-4617
Email: donchin@mail.usf.edu
Kyle Reed, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-2385
Fax: (813) 974-3539
Email: kylereed@usf.edu
Yu Sun, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813)974-7508
Fax: (813) 974-5456
Email: yusun@cse.usf.edu
Sudeep Sarkar, PhD

Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-2113
Fax: (813) 974-3348
Email: sarkar@cse.usf.edu
Jason Highsmith, PT, DPT, CP, FAAOP

Assistant Professor, School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences

Phone: (813) 974-3806
Fax: (813) 974-8915
Email: mhighsmi@health.usf.edu
Merry Lynn Morris

Instructor & Academic Advisor, School of Theatre & Dance

Phone: (813) 974-1739
Fax: (813) 974-2026
Email: mmorris3@usf.edu
Luther Palmer, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974- 2282
Fax: (813) 974-5456
Email: palmer@cse.usf.edu
William S. (Sandy) Quillen, PT, DPT, PhD, FACSM

Associate Dean, USF College of Medicine

Director, USF School of Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences

Phone: (813) 974-9863
Fax: (813) 974-8915
Email: wquillen@health.usf.edu
Tennyson J. Wright, PhD, CRC

Chair & Associate Professor, Department of Rehabilitation & Mental Health Counseling

Phone: (813) 974-2963
Fax: (813) 974- 8080
Email: tjwright@usf.edu
Shuh-Jing Ying, PhD

Professor Emeritus, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-5627
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: ying@eng.usf.edu

Service Engineers & Technicians


Rosannah Parma
Office Manager

Phone: (813) 974-3977
Fax: (850) 974-3369
Email: rparma@usf.edu

Gary Sherman
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 1 (Tallahassee)

Phone: (850) 245-3421
Fax: (850) 245-3436
Email: gsherma2@usf.edu

Rafael Quinones
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 2 (Jacksonville)

Phone: (904) 348-2770 ext. 102
Fax: (904) 348-2636
Email: rquinones1@usf.edu

Stephanie McGhee
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 2 (Jacksonville)

Phone: (904) 348-2770 ext.108
Fax: (904) 348-2636
Email: smcghee@usf.edu

Siva Gusam
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 3 (Orlando)

Phone: (407) 897-5846
Fax: (407) 893-4436
Email: sivag@usf.edu

Vilma Cedoz
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 3 (Orlando)

Phone: (407) 897-5846
Fax: (407) 893-4436
Email: cedoz@usf.edu

Louis Melgar
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 4 (Tampa)

Phone: (813) 974-5367
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: lmelgar@usf.edu

Nyssa Masters
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 4 (Tampa)

Phone: (813) 974-9706
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: nmasters@usf.edu

Linda Colon
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 4 (Tampa)

Phone: (813) 974-4222
Fax: (813) 974-3369
Email: lecolon@usf.edu

Jeff Daniel
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 5 (West Palm Beach)

Phone: (305) 628-7039
Fax: (305) 628-7049
Email: jldaniel@usf.edu

Lashara Thomas
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 5 (West Palm Beach)

Phone: (561) 992-2001
Fax: (561) 992-1378
Email: lthomas6@usf.edu

Lex Reina
Rehabilitation Engineer, Area 6 (Miami)

Phone: (305) 643-7497
Fax: (305) 643-7498
Email: lreina@usf.edu

Alberto Garcia-Paz
Rehabilitation Technician, Area 6 (Miami)

Phone: (305) 643-7495
Fax: (305) 643-7498
Email: garciapa@usf.edu

Students

Post Doctorates


Derek Lura, PhD

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: dlura@mail.usf.edu

Ph.D Students


Kester Duncan, MSCSE

PhD Candidate, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: kkduncan@mail.usf.edu

Adrian Johnson, BSCSE

PhD Candidate, Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: asjohns4@mail.usf.edu

Karan Khokar, MSME

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: kkhokar@mail.usf.edu

Mustafa Mashali, MSME

PhD Candidate, Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: mmashali@mil.usf.edu

Matthew Wernke, BSBME

PhD Candidate, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: mwernke@mail.usf.edu

Master's Students


Daniel Ashley, BSCSE

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: dashley2@mail.usf.edu

Christine Bringes, BSCSE

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: cbringes@mail.usf.edu

Matthew Clevenger, BSME

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: matthewc@mail.usf.edu

Amanda Martori, BSBME

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: martori@mail.usf.edu

Nyssa Masters, BSME

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: nmasters@mail.usf.edu

Jason Maynard, BSME, MBA

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: jlmaynard@mail.usf.edu

Paul Mitzlaff, BSME

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: pmitzlaf@mail.usf.edu

Indika Pathirage, BSCSE

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: indika@mail.usf.edu

Shyam Thillainathan, BSEE

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (863) 582-2642
Email: shyam1@mail.usf.edu

Undergraduate Students


Jason Cathell

Department of Electrical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: jcathell@mail.usf.edu

Sarah Tudor

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: smtudor@mail.usf.edu

Micheal Concepcion

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: maconcep@mail.usf.edu

Jason Entenmann

Department of Electrical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-7367
Email: entenmann@mail.usf.edu

Brent Savage

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-6033
Email: basavage@mail.usf.edu

Michael Cohen

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Phone: (813) 974-9651
Email: macohen4@mail.usf.edu

Alumni


Eric Esinhart

Joseph Palmowski

Micheal Concepcion

Punya Basnayaka

Jeffrey Cama

John Camacho

John Capille

Adriana Chacon

Chris Colbert

Daniel Cruz

Kyle Curham

Sravan Elineni

Fabian Farelo

Matthew Fowler

Rebekah Freilich

Elijah Klay

Megan Malek

Holly Morris

Sean Motta

William Pence

Norali Pernalete

Brent Savage

Mario Alves Simoes

Francy Sinatra

Michelle Smith

Ana Catalina Torres

Eduardo Veras

Wentao Yu
CARRT

"Center for Assistive, Rehabilitation & Robotics Technologies"
Research - Education - Service